The Azores archipelago is constituted by nine islands located in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, which are grouped into three groups: the eastern group (São Miguel and Santa Maria),

the central group (Terceira, Graciosa, Sao Jorge, Pico and Faial) and even the western group (Flores and Corvo) .It has a maritime climate with mild temperatures that can range from 16ºC in winter to 26ºC in summer.

The Azorean cuisine is very rich in fish and shellfish that are present either in the grill, as in stews and soups. In the meat we have as typical Azorean dish the cozido das furnas that is cooked under the ground. The bolo lêvedo of Furnas (leavened cake) is also very popular, such as the cheeses of the Azores which are prepared mainly from cow’s milk. Be sure also to enjoy the sweet, juicy pineapple on the island of São Miguel.

© Copyright 2016